Rick Lee – Look What Thoughts Will Do

Lee uses his five-string banjo, keyboards, and deep baritone vocals to expand on the folk tradition. …He breathes new life into six traditional tunes and songs by Lefty Frizzell, Bryan Bowers, Kate Wolf and the Louvin Brothers…[and] shows his songwriting skills with two pieces….  –Dirty Linen #119, August/September, 2005



  1. The Lady and the Gypsy (trad. arr. Rick Lee BMI) 5:14
  2. A Drunkard’s Lament (trad. arr. Rick Lee BMI) 2:22
  3. Look What Thoughts Will Do (Lefty Frizzell, Jim Beck, Dub Dickerson BMI) 2:37
  4. Melinda (trad. arr. Rick Lee BMI) 2:15
  5. Sweet Love (Kate Wolf BMI) 4:38
  6. Friend For Life (Bill Danoff & Bryan Bowers ASCAP) 4:30
  7. Children of Darkness (Richard Farina ASCAP) 3:18
  8. Weapon of Prayer (Ira Louvin and Charlie Louvin BMI) 3:15
  9. Emo5 (Rick Lee BMI) 2:14
  10. True Thomas/The Languor of Love (trad. arr. Rick Lee BMI) 4:23
  11. Da Trowie Burn (Friedmann Stickle arr. Rick Lee BMI) 3:45
  12. The Merry Golden Tree (trad. arr. Rick Lee BMI) 4:30
  13. Thanksgiving (Rick Lee BMI) 2:28
  14. The Old Fish Song (trad. arr. Rick Lee BMI) 5:41
  15. How High Did You Go (Tony Martin & Mark Nesler BMI) 3:58



Produced by Andy May

Rick Lee, vocals, 5-string banjo, piano, keyboards
Andy May, guitars, mandolin, backing vocals
Hal Rugg, dobro, pedal steel guitar
Dow Tomlin & Todd Cook, bass
John Gardner, drums
Dave Howard, guitar, mandolin, backing vocals
Katie May, backing vocal

Recording, mixing and mastering engineer: Nathan R. Smith,
Mainframe Recording Studio, www.mainframerecordingstudio.com

Cover painting (c) 2003 J.P. Slavin used by permission


AK Color Bar
AK Color Bar AK Color Bar