Blackberry Jam


Classic Andy May music

Packed with a dozen original songs performed by Andy backed by a world-class acoustic band made up of some of Nashville’s best players.

⇨ Reviews & News

In stock


Sample tracks:

  • Full track list on “More Info” tab
  • Single-track and album downloads available from most online retailers, including Amazon and iTunes.

Blackberry Jam features Andy’s trademark humorous optimism and songs with a traditional flavor and an innovative zip. The rip-roaring Bound for Tennessee and the contemporary bluegrass They Put the Blue in Bluegrass are tributes to legendary musicians of other eras, and the melody of the title song is based on the old fiddle tune, Blackberry Blossom. There is also a taste of acoustic rock (I Think I’ll Move), and contemporary folk (My Dad) in the mix.

There is plenty of food for thought here—as in the gentle Love’s the Greatest Gift of All—as well as for the heart and ears. There is heartache in the country ballad, I’ll Meet You in My Memory, and bluesy wistfulness in Cloudy, with a Chance of Pain… balanced by a dollop of humor provided by the swampy Stan. The musicianship is delectable throughout. Little Bird, for example, features an ear-catching three-finger roll guitar style Andy began developing in the 1960s.

Special Thanks To:

Jim Heffernan: For his arrangemental contributions and enthusiasm for this project from the very beginning.

Rick Lee: For the spark to get this project going and for all his support since ‘way back.


  • Produced by Andy May, Swift River Music 
  • Andy May: lead vocals, acoustic guitars, mandolin
  • Jim Heffernan: Dobro, pedal steel, acoustic guitar, banjo (Bound for Tennessee)
  • Kenny Malone: percussion
  • Dennis Crouch: bass
  • Rick Lee: piano, keyboards
  • Tim Crouch: fiddle
  • David Talbot: banjo (They Put the Blue in Bluegrass)
  • Larry Marrs: harmony vocals
  • Craig Fletcher: harmony vocals
  • Engineered by Nathan Smith
  • Recorded and mixed at Mainframe Recording Studio, Nashville, TN
  • Mastered by Eric Wolf, Wolf Mastering, Nashville, TN
  • Cover photo by Lauren LeCroy May

Additional information


, ,


1. Blackberry Jam (Lauren & Andy May) – 2:31

2. Stan (Lauren & Andy May) – 3:17

3. I’ll Still Want to Be with You (Andy May) – 3:12

4. Bound for Tennessee (Andy May) – 3:26

5. They Put the Blue in Bluegrass (Andy & Lauren May) – 3:42

6. Cloudy, with a Chance of Pain (Lauren & Andy May) – 2:51

7. Big Wings (Andy & Lauren May) – 3:35

8. Little Bird (Andy May) – 2:54

9. My Dad (Andy May) – 4:05

10. I Think I’ll Move (Andy May) – 3:56

11. I’ll Meet You in My Memory (Lauren & Andy May) – 3:18

12. Love’s the Greatest Gift of All (Andy May) – 3:55